Recipes

Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Vegan Chipotle Lime Aioli

FriedGreenTomatoes

Are these healthy, probably not. Do I care, absolutely not! My diet is highly restrictive. Mostly because of food allergies and partially because of choice. I tend to shy away from eating junk simply because I do not like how it makes me feel. Today, however, I do not care and opted to make something fried, salty, and good.

Fried green tomatoes have been one of my favorite foods for as long as I can remember. My parents have always had a vegetable garden where they grow tomatoes, collards, peppers, squash, you name it. I’m not sure many of the tomatoes ever fully ripened on the vine because we would pick them while they were green to fry for weekend breakfast. I always hovered over my mom so I could eat them before the full batch was done. So eating fried green tomatoes has always been something I’ve associated with joy.

Today I found green tomatoes at the farmer’s market by chance. I’m in the lull of seasonal eating when you just can’t wait for the new season to start because you’re completely burnt out on what’s available now. I have had more than my fair share of apples and tangerines to last me until next season. Anyways I stumbled around the farmer’s market aimlessly grabbing my normal items and happened to glance at a vendor that had plump extra firm green tomatoes. Seeing these definitely turned my mood around. It was like “finally something new and exciting to buy!” Needless to say I bought a few and ran home to put together this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Large Green Tomatoes
  • 1 Cup Stone Ground Gluten Free Corn Flour
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Oil for pan frying (I used coconut oil)

Aioli (I have to be honest and say this is more like a vinaigrette):

  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Lime Juice
  • 1 Tsp Chipotle Chili Sauce
  • 1 Garlic Clove

Peel tomatoes and slice into circular pieces. Sprinkle salt and pepper liberally on each side. Add corn flour to a bowl, mix at least 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper into the flour. Dredge the tomato slices in the flour and making sure to coat them thoroughly.

In a skillet, heat oil on a medium to high heat. Once oil is hot remove tomatoes from flour making sure to shake off any excess into the bowl then place slices one by one into the oil. Try not to overcrowd tomatoes in skillet. Brown on each slide for about 3 minutes. Remove tomatoes from the skillet and place on a napkin to help drain the excess oil.

For the aioli/vinaigrette, add all contents to a mini blender or mini food processor and blend/process until smooth and well incorporated.

Serve tomatoes immediately as they do not store well. Plate and drizzle with aioli/vinaigrette. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

